SQL query category_name for a n00b

Hello, I am very brand new to sql querying with Rapid7. I am working on a query for all vulns in our sites that export a CSV with:

SEVERITY, HOST NAME, IP ADDRESS, OS, Category, SUMMARY, REMEDIATION, PROOF, Overdue

Here is my query:

SELECT da.host_name, da.ip_address, dos.family, dos.description, dv.title, dv.nexpose_id, round(dv.cvss_score::numeric, 2) AS cvss_score,
dv.severity, fapr.proof, ds.summary, dvc.category_name
FROM dim_asset da
LEFT JOIN dim_operating_system dos USING(operating_system_id)
JOIN fact_asset_vulnerability_finding favf ON da.asset_id=favf.asset_id
JOIN dim_vulnerability dv ON favf.vulnerability_id=dv.vulnerability_id
JOIN fact_asset_policy_rule fapr ON da.asset_id=fapr.asset_id
JOIN dim_asset_vulnerability_best_solution dvbs ON favf.asset_id=dvbs.asset_id AND favf.vulnerability_id=dvbs.vulnerability_id
JOIN dim_solution ds USING(solution_id)
ORDER BY “cvss_score” DESC

So far so good but I can’t figure out how to input the vuln category, I am trying to pull it form dim_vulnerability_category but I simply don’t understand how to pull category_name out of it.

Any help would be appreciated.

It looks like you’re on the right track with your query. I believe what you’d need to do is add a JOIN statement for the dim_vulnerability_category table, and then that’ll allow you to select the dvc.category_name that you already have up top. It could be something like:

JOIN dim_vulnerability_category dvc ON dv.vulnerability_id = dvc.vulnerability_id

It can also be good to add WHERE clauses to try to limit the vulnerabilities being returned with reports like these. Filtering by something like severity can help make sure you’re not hit with an overwhelming number of them.

Thank you @holly_wilsey ! That was perfect. I am still learning the structure here for SQL queries, I was basically digging through my previous colleagues report and trying to figure it out on my own.