Insightconnect Jira Workflow

Hello,

I apologize if this is the wrong area for this request, I’m very new to insightconnect workflow creations, and I was wondering if there is a resource on how to create a basic workflow for monitoring certain Jira tickets that are created.

Essentially we are looking to have insightconnect monitor our cloud deployed JIRA instance, and look for any tickets titled [PHISH] to examine the body for the reported URL against Virustotal, and then escalate the ticket to a P3/P2 if it comes back as malicious.

Thank you in advance!

The first step in your workflow will be Jira. This will be the trigger step.

You have two options for the way Jira can trigger workflows within InsightConnect.

Monitor Issues:

New Issues:

It sounds like these would be new incidents created in Jira, so the New Issues should work.

In the trigger you will either use a specific project if all your phishing tickets go into their own project that would work, or you need to use a JQL statement. If you input the project ID into the action it is looking for the letters at the end. In my screenshot it would be looking for KD
Screen Shot 2024-04-08 at 1.00.44 PM

If you need to use a JQL statement that would look something like this:
project = “Project Name” AND summary ~ “[PHISH]”
You can build this out in Jira where you build a new filter to test with and make sure it works. That is the same statement you would use in the JQL portion of the trigger.

The trigger creates output that will be available to your steps later in the workflow.

Without seeing what an actual ticket looks like you will have to look at the output from that step and see where in the output is the URL you are wanting to pass to VirusTotal. I would assume it is going to be part of the body and need to be extracted out.