SQL Report for Assets and Associated Attributes

Hi All,

I’m fairly new to the topic.

I’m wanting to get a report of each asset in a particular group and display their Address, Hostname, Operating System, Last Scan Time, Associated Sites, Associated Groups and Assigned User-Added Custom Tags.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

I believe this should get you pretty close to what you’re looking for. It uses string_agg to list things like sites, asset groups, and tags all in one row so you don’t have tons of duplicates in the report.

WITH
   custom_tags AS (
      SELECT asset_id, array_to_string(array_agg(distinct tag_name),',') AS custom_tags
      FROM dim_tag
         JOIN dim_tag_asset USING (tag_id)
      WHERE tag_type = 'CUSTOM'
      GROUP BY asset_id
   )
SELECT da.asset_id, da.ip_address, da.host_name, dos.name AS operating_system,
       da.last_assessed_for_vulnerabilities, string_agg(ds.name, ',') AS sites,
       string_agg(dag.name, ',') AS asset_groups, ct.custom_tags
FROM dim_asset da
JOIN dim_asset_group_asset daga ON da.asset_id = daga.asset_id
JOIN dim_asset_group dag ON daga.asset_group_id = dag.asset_group_id
JOIN dim_site_asset dsa ON dsa.asset_id = da.asset_id
JOIN dim_site ds ON dsa.site_id = ds.site_id
JOIN dim_operating_system dos on dos.operating_system_id = da.operating_system_id
LEFT JOIN custom_tags AS ct ON (ct.asset_id = da.asset_id)
GROUP BY da.asset_id, da.ip_address, da.host_name, dos.name,
         da.last_assessed_for_vulnerabilities, ct.custom_tags;

If you’re newer to SQL, you can also check out our reporting data model here and here to get a better understanding of the tables and fields available for use in queries.

And we have a bunch of SQL examples here (scroll down on the left-hand menu to see all of them):

https://docs.rapid7.com/insightvm/sql-query-export-examples/

Thank you very much Holly, I’ll give this a go and let you know :raised_hands:

Helo!
You’ll excuse me from the side.